Caldwell Award

Caldwell Award

The John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities, the Council's highest honor, has been presented annually since its inauguration in 1990. Named for its first recipient, the late Dr. John Tyler Caldwell, from 1959-1975 the chancellor of North Carolina State University and a founding member of the North Carolina Humanities Council, the award pays tribute to individuals whose life and work illuminate one or more of the multiple dimensions of human life where the humanities come into play: civic, personal, intellectual, and moral.

Call for Nominations for the 2020 John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities

Submission Deadline: January 06, 2020 at 5:00 PM EST

To submit, email required nomination paperwork to Melanie Moore at with the subject line: “2020 Caldwell Nomination” 


With the John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities, the North Carolina Humanities Council recognizes distinguished individuals who have strengthened the educational, cultural, and civic life of North Carolinians.

Nominees should be persons profoundly committed to the humanities who can raise the fundamental questions of meaning in accessible and imaginative ways. Examples include those who:

  • Demonstrate significant scholarly achievement, that leads to greater public understanding and appreciation for the humanities
  • Work closely with community organizations to facilitate conversations about matters of concern to all citizens
  • Instill a passion for learning through their teaching of the humanities
  • Use the perspective of the humanities in shaping public policy


The 2020 John Tyler Caldwell Award recipient will be chosen by the North Carolina Humanities Council’s Board of Trustees in February, 2020. The recipient will be notified in spring 2020. A public ceremony and reception will take place in or around October 2020.

Please submit the following electronically to to complete your nomination. Incomplete submissions will not be eligible.

  • Nominee’s name
  • Name of person making the nomination
  • Brief description of nominee’s contributions and achievements and the most compelling reasons why the person should receive the John Tyler Caldwell Award (no more than 1 1/2 pages)
  • Two other pieces of support material, such as letters of reference or print materials related to the nominee

Submission Deadline: January 06, 2020 at 5:00 PM EST