Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series

The Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series supports the mission of the North Carolina Poetry Society to foster the reading, writing, and enjoyment of poetry across the state.  Every year, three Distinguished Poets from the east, central, and west of North Carolina each mentor a middle-school, a high-school, a college or university student, and an adult within their respective regions. The Series offers a way for poets to give back to the North Carolina poetry community.  Past Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poets include Ann Deagon, Joseph Bathanti, John Hoppenthaler, Becky Gould Gibson, Lavonne Adams, Catherine Carter, among others.