New Board Chair Leadership to Usher in New Trustees

New Board Chair Leadership to Usher in New Trustees

Ten New Trustees Join the Board of the North Carolina Humanities Council

New Board Chair Leadership to Usher in New Trustees

CHARLOTTE, NC (November 4, 2019) – The North Carolina Humanities Council is pleased to announce new Board leadership and welcome ten new trustees to the organization’s Board of Trustees. As of November 1, the Board is composed of 23 volunteers from across the state. The Council thanks the 2018-2019 Board for their service. For a full list of Council trustees, please visit

The Council’s Board of Trustees has elected Nancy A. Gutierrez (Charlotte) as Board Chair, Lorna Ricotta (Fayetteville) as Vice Chair, and Edward J. Sheary (Weaverville) as Chair Elect for the 2019-2020 term. Nancy led her first Board meeting as Board Chair on November 1, 2019 in Charlotte.

Gutierrez is Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Prior to coming to UNC Charlotte, she served as Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at Arizona State University where she was a Professor of English. Her areas of emphasis include the role of the scholarship of engagement in promotion and tenure decisions, advocacy for interdisciplinary research and programming, globalization in curriculum and in faculty professionalization, and advocacy for the liberal arts. A scholar of early modern English literature, Gutierrez has published on Shakespearean drama and early modern women.

The newly elected trustees are as follows: Margaret D. Bauer, Editor of NC Literary Review (Greenville); Christina Chia, Associate Director of the John Hope Franklin Humanities Institute at Duke University (Durham); Nancy Fields, Museum Director and Curator of the Museum of the Southeast American Indian at University of North Carolina at Pembroke (Pembroke); Jessica Hardin, Attorney at Robinson Bradshaw (Charlotte); Brian Kahn, Partner at McGuireWoods, LLP (Charlotte); and Kathy White, Retired Curriculum and Instruction Consultant (Roanoke Rapids).

The Council has five trustees directly appointed to the Board at the direction of the Governor. This year, Governor Roy Cooper has appointed the following four new trustees to the Board: Diane Robertson, Strategic Consultant (Carrboro); Cecelia Thompson, Executive Director at Action Greensboro (Greensboro); Christopher Lam, Partner at Bradley law firm (Charlotte); and Tasse Little, Appalachian State University Parent Association Board of Directors (Charlotte). Liliana Wendorff (Charlotte) was appointed to the Board by the Governor in 2018.

North Carolina Humanities Council’s Board of Trustees seek to make the humanities accessible statewide. Trustees ensure that the Council reaches its mission; evaluate grant proposals; serve on committees; participate in the development and approval of policies and long-range plans; and provide financial oversight.

By congressional mandate, the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), an independent federal agency in the executive branch, provide general operating support grants to the North Carolina Humanities Council and the other 55 state and jurisdictional humanities councils. Additional Council funding is provided through private philanthropy.

Anyone interested in discussing Board service may contact Melanie Moore at

Press Contact: Melanie Moore | (704) 687-1520 |

Photo Caption: Outgoing Council Board Chair, William L. Andrews (2018-2019) passes the gavel to incoming Council Board Chair, Nancy A. Gutierrez (2019-2020) at the North Carolina Humanities Council’s September 2019 Board of Trustees Meeting in Charlotte.