

Linda Flowers Literary Award

About the Award:

The Linda Flowers Literary Award was inaugurated in 2001 in memory of Linda Flowers (1944-2000) who served as a Board Trustee from 1992 to 1998. The contest invited North Carolina authors to submit original, unpublished works of fiction, nonfiction, or poetry that celebrated the North Carolina experience and conveyed excellence in writing.

Recipients:

- 2001 Karen Gilchrist, *The Cure*
- 2002 Joseph Bathanti, Land of Amnesia
- 2003 Heather Ross Miller, Miss Jessie Dukes and Kid Heavy
- 2004 Barbara Presnell, Sherry's Prayer: NC Textile 1967-2004
- 2005 Kermit Turner, *Tongue-Tied*
- 2006 Kathy Watts, Goin' Fishin'
- 2007 Susan Vogel, *The Pick-up Line*
- 2008 Kirsten Hemmy, Carolina Landscapes: Poems
- 2009 Katey Shultz, *Amplitude*
- 2010 Traci Lazenby Elliot, *Legacy*
- 2011 Nancy Dew Taylor, Mill Creek Suite
- 2012 Angela Kelly, Semper Fi of Appalachia
- 2013 Steve Lautermilch, Where Waters Meet
- 2014 John Thomas York, O Beautiful Bug
- 2017 Aaron Ballance, Sugarfoot, Old Trouble, The Peaks, One-Eyed Jenny, The Brink, Leading Flash to the Barn January, and Rust.
- 2018 Jennifer Brown, Landscape with Death and Birth
- 2019 Shirlette Ammons, Labor of Love: A Personal Travelogue of Black Labor
- 2020 Mildred Barya, Being Here in this Body

Please note: No winner was selected for the 2015 award and no contest was operated in 2016 and 2021.

© North Carolina Humanities 2021. NC Humanities is a statewide nonprofit and affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Any views, findings, conclusions, opinions, or recommendations expressed by our partners and participants do not necessarily represent those of NC Humanities or the National Endowment for the Humanities.